Extremophile life

Note that many reviews and new studies have overturned (countered) the finding discussed in this article. The information presented on this page is no longer believed to be current and true.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Canadian Press - Scientists released the results of their surprising discovery in early December 2010 on a life form once thought to be impossible. Scientists unveiled the discovery of a bacterium in the journal SCIENCE in 2011 (see source below) that can feed on arsenic, material hitherto linked to death. This extraordinary discovery broadens the possibilities of discovering life forms elsewhere in the universe, whether in our own solar system or on exo-planets.

Skeptics of extraterrestrial life will say that this form was found on Earth and in no way corresponds to a discovery on another celestial body. However, this remarkable discovery proves the adaptation of bacteria and their capacity to take forms that were previously thought impossible.

Researcher Paul Davis, an English-born physicist and professor at the University of Arizona, says: “This organism has a dual capacity. It can grow with phosphorus or arsenic. This makes him very special, even if it doesn't really make him an "alien" life form in his study published in early December 2010 in the online edition of the scientific journal Science.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Until now, scientists considered that 6 elements were essential to carry life: nitrogen, hydrogen, sulfur, phosphorus, carbon and oxygen. But bacteria discovered at Mono Lake in California (see image) have just determined that it is possible to continue to evolve and grow by replacing phosphorus with arsenic. This disturbing discovery greatly increases the chances of finding life on other planets, even in the bacterial state. It is even believed that the same process of substitution could take place between carbon and silicon.

This discovery about the possibility of finding life in a still unknown form is important because it is imperative that scientists can recognize life when they find it. If some new paradigms show that life can adapt in forms unimaginable in the past, the possibility of finding extra-terrestrial life is therefore increased.

The discovery of this bacterium having replaced phosphorus with arsenic "demonstrates that in other planetary environments, organisms may be able to use other elements to fuel their biochemistry and that the 'normal' elements that we consider essential to life may not be essential elsewhere, ”commented British researcher Charles Cockell, professor emeritus of geo-microbiology.

It was Felisa Wolfe-Simon, study director at the NASA Institute for Astrobiology, who targeted Mono Lake because of its high arsenic levels. Arsenic and phosphorus have a similar chemical makeup, and she believed that microbes exposed to both might be able to substitute for one for the other. However, it must be repeated once again that shortly after publicly affirming this news, numerous reviews and new studies have come to invalidate this information.

It has always been believed that arsenic, an element possessing chemical behavior very similar to that of phosphorus, was toxic to life. Under these circumstances, it is a monumental discovery to have shown that phosphorus could be replaced by arsenic in certain living beings, terrestrial or extraterrestrial.

The research basically consisted of collecting samples of the bacteria GFAJ-1 and exposing it to increasing concentrations of arsenic, to which it was able to adapt to keep growing further. Research has shown that phosphorus remains the ideal support element for the growth of the bacteria, but it is with amazement that the researchers found that the bacteria adapted to arsenic. This discovery paves the way for research into extraterrestrial life in arsenic-rich environments, whether on Earth or on another planet.

According to research and studies looking at the formation of planet Earth, it is believed that arsenic was much more present at the very beginning and it is in this environment that primitive life forms could have become accustomed to the presence of this element.

This discovery revives the debate on the basic elements that can create and regulate life. But with criticism of the authors of this study and new findings in the field, it now seems unlikely that arsenic can actually replace phosphorus.

Source of the article :

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Felisa_Wolfe-Simon

https://science.sciencemag.org/content/332/6034/1163

https://www.nature.com/news/arsenic-life-bacterium-prefers-phosphorus-after-all-1.11520

llllll

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Vie extrêmophile

Notez que de nombreuses critiques et nouvelles études ont infirmé (aller à l'encontre) la découverte dont traite cet article. Les informations présentées dans cette page ne sont plus considérées comme actuelles et vraies.

Canadian Press – Des scientifiques ont rendu publique, au début décembre 2010, le résultat de leur surprenante découverte sur une forme de vie que l’on croyait encore impossible. Les scientifiques ont dévoilé au grand jour la découverte d'une bactérie dans la revue SCIENCE en 2011 (voir source plus bas) pouvant se nourrir d'arsenic, matériel jusqu’ici lié à la mort. Cette découverte extraordinaire élargit les possibilités de découvrir des formes de vie ailleurs dans l'univers, que se soit dans notre propre système solaire ou sur des exo-planètes.

 

Les sceptiques à la vie extra-terrestres diront que cette forme a été trouvé sur Terre et ne correspond en rien à une découverte sur un autre corps céleste. Pourtant cette découverte remarquable prouve l’adaptation de bactérie et leur capacité à prendre des formes que l’on croyait jusqu’ici impossible.

 

Le chercheur Paul Davis, anglais d’origine et physicien professeur à l’Université d’Arizona dit que : « Cet organisme a une double capacité. Il peut croître avec du phosphore ou de l'arsenic. Cela le rend très particulier, même si cela n'en fait pas vraiment une forme de vie "extra-terrestre" dans son étude publiée au début décembre 2010 dans l'édition en ligne du journal scientifique Science.

Jusqu’à maintenant les scientifiques considéraient que 6 éléments étaient essentiels pour porter la vie: l’azote, l’hydrogène, le souffre, le phosphore, le carbone et l’oxygène. Mais des bactéries découvertes au lac Mono en Californie (voir image) viennent de déterminer qu’il est possible de continuer à évoluer et à grandir en remplaçant le phosphore par de l’arsenic. Cette découverte troublante élargit énormément les chances de trouver de la vie sur d’autres planète, même à l’état bactérien. On croit même que le même procédé de substitution pourrait avoir lieu entre le carbone et silicium.

 

Cette découverte quant à la possibilité de trouver de la vie sous une forme encore inconnue est importante car il est impératif que les scientifiques puissent reconnaitre la vie lorsqu’ils la trouveront. Si certains paradigmes nouveaux montrent que la vie peut s’adapter dans des formes inimaginables par le passé, la possibilité de trouver de la vie extra-terrestres est donc augmenté.

 

La découverte de cette bactérie ayant remplacé le phosphore par de l’arsenic «démontre que dans d'autres environnements planétaires, des organismes pourraient être capables d'utiliser d'autres éléments pour alimenter leur biochimie et que les éléments 'normaux' que nous considérons essentiels à la vie ne le sont peut-être pas ailleurs», a commenté le chercheur britannique Charles Cockell, professeur émérite de géo-microbiologie.

 

C’est Felisa Wolfe-Simon, directrice de l’étude à l'Institut d'astrobiologie de la NASA, qui a ciblé le lac Mono en raison de ses taux élevés d'arsenic. L'arsenic et le phosphore ont une composition chimique similaire, et elle croyait que des microbes exposés aux deux pourraient être en mesure de substituer un pour l'autre. Il faut néanmoins répéter encore une fois que peu de temps après avoir publiquement affirmé cette nouvelle, de nombreuses critiques et nouvelles études sont venus infirmer ces informations.

 

On a toujours cru que l’arsenic, élément possédant un comportement chimique très similaire à celui du phosphore, était toxique pour la vie. Dans ces circonstances c’est une découverte monumental d’avoir montré que le phosphore pouvait être remplacé par l’arsenic chez certains êtres vivant, terrestres ou extra-terrestres.

 

La recherche consistait essentiellement à récolter des échantillons de la bactérie GFAJ-1 et l’exposée à des concentrations croissantes d'arsenic, auxquelles elle a été capable de s'adapter pour continuer à croître davantage. Les recherches ont montrés que le phosphore restait l’élément de soutien idéal à la croissance de la bactérie mais c’est avec stupeur que les chercheurs ont trouvé que la bactérie s’adaptait à l’arsenic. Cette découverte ouvre la voie à la recherche sur la vie extra-terrestres dans des milieux riches en arsenic, que se soit sur Terre ou sur une autre planète.

 

Selon les recherches et les études s’étant penchés sur la formation de planète Terre, on croit que l’arsenic était beaucoup plus présente au tout début et c’est dans cet environnement que des formes de vie primitives auraient pu s’habituer à la présence de cet élément.

Cette découverte relance le débat sur les éléments de base pouvant créer et réguler la vie. Mais avec les critiques qu'on subit les auteurs de cette étude et avec les nouvelles découverte dans le domaine, il semble maintenant peu probable que l'arsenic puisse réellement remplacer le phosphore.

 

Source de l'arcticle:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Felisa_Wolfe-Simon

https://science.sciencemag.org/content/332/6034/1163

https://www.nature.com/news/arsenic-life-bacterium-prefers-phosphorus-after-all-1.11520

llllll