Project Blue Book - 1952 to 1969

Largest government investigation into UFOs

Project Blue Book is the most extensive investigation carried out for the US government into the UFO phenomenon. Investigative work on the sightings was entrusted to engineers and scientists at the Battle Memorial Institute in Columbus, Ohio. This highly respected research center was contracted with a group of the US Air Force, located at the Wright-Patterson base in Dauton, Ohio. In the 1950s, Project Blue Book was the publicly known government group interested in unknown aerial phenomena.

The growing public interest in the UFO phenomenon and following the 1952 wave of light, the Blue Book project was initiated in 1952 after the Sign (1947) and Grudge (1949) projects. It nevertheless took on a large scale following the wave of UFOs which flew over the capitol in Washington. This BLUE BOOK project was to serve to "educate" the American people on the UFO phenomenon. In other words, we wanted to make sure that Americans no longer see UFOs everywhere. As part of this project, we consciously took cases that could easily be explained and we relegated to oblivion, cases that really posed a challenge to science.

Project Blue Book (report # 14) records 12,618 sightings, all made between the years 1952 and 1969, the year in which he was arrested. It is by looking at the results versus the attitude of the army that we can wonder about the real intention of this mega study.

1) The conclusion of the report comes in a document called report # 14. It is therefore understandable that 13 reports preceded this one. But where are they? And what about the conclusions?

2) Reading the report, we see that 21% of cases are considered "unexplained". On the other hand, in the press release, the secretary of the US Air Force said "on the basis of the findings of this report, we believe that no object described as a" Flying saucer "has flown over US territory. Even the unexplained 3% could be figured out if we had all the necessary information. " This statement is all the more surprising when we know that 21% of cases are considered unexplained. There is something to frown on!

3) Each sighting report, according to the witnesses involved, was categorized as excellent, good, questionable, poor. In the final report, we realize that the more credible a testimony (with the mention excellent), the more likely it is to be in the "unexplained" category.

4) Several rigorously false comments were made following the pseudo-conclusions of the BLUE BOOK project. And these comments are often reused by skeptics even today (in 2020) who are not familiar with the studies of the phenomenon. Here are some of them freely translated into French:

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

“The reliable cases are not interesting and the interesting cases are not reliable. Unfortunately, there are no cases that are both reliable and interesting ”

Carl Sagan, astronomer

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

This statement by Carl Sagan regarding the UFO sightings is all the more false when one reads the findings of Project Blue Book. The more a witness has the mark "excellent", the more his testimony is likely to be in the category of unexplained aerial phenomena.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

“Pretty much all of the sightings are either mistakes or hoaxes. Reports are so filled with hoaxes and flying saucer enthusiasts are so often eccentric, bizarre and moronic that Hynek constantly risks destroying his reputation unwittingly by being confused by them ”

Dr. Isaac Asimov, author

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Another haphazard quote. Numerous testimonies have been reported by very credible witnesses who have obvious skills to understand the origin of common aerial phenomena: air traffic controllers, police officers, airline or fighter pilot, engineer, astronomer

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

"All unexplained cases come from bad observers"

Dr. Donald Menzel, astronomer

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Quote on UFO testimonies completely false when we really focus on the study of the recorded testimonies.

"Unexplained cases are simply those for which there is little information on which to obtain a solid basis of explanation."

Ben Bova, writer

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Many testimonies have been noted by witnesses who are both credible and have a very important knowledge of the various air and meteorological phenomena. Radar screens were also able to pick up signals from objects with technical capacities clearly above our technology.

Projet Blue Book - 1952 à 1969

Enquête la plus vaste pour le gouvernement sur les OVNIS

Le projet Blue Book est l'enquête la plus vaste effectué pour le gouvernement américain sur le phénomène OVNI. Le travail d'enquête sur les observations fut confié à des ingénieurs et des scientifiques au Battle Memorial Institute à Colombus, en Ohio. Ce centre de recherche très respecté eut le contrat avec un groupe de la US Air Force, situé à la base de Wright-Patterson à Dauton en Ohio. Dans les années 50, le projet Blue Book était le groupe publiquement connu du gouvernement s'interessant au phénomènes aériens inconnus.

 

L'intérêt du public grandissant pour le phénomène OVNI et suite à la vague de lumière de 1952, le projet Blue Book fut initié en 1952 après les projets Sign (1947) et Grudge (1949). Il prit néanmoins une grande ampleur suite à la vague d’OVNI qui survola le capitole à Washington. Ce projet BLUE BOOK devait servir à "éduquer" le peuple américain sur le phénomène OVNI. En d’autres mots, on souhaitait faire en sorte que les américains ne voient plus des OVNI partout. Dans le cadre de ce projet, on a sciemment pris des cas que l’on pouvait facilement expliquer et on a reléguer aux oubliettes, les cas qui posaient réellement un défis à la science.

 

Le projet Blue Book (rapport #14) relate 12 618 observations, toutes faites entre les années 1952 et 1969, année à laquelle il fut arrêté. C'est en regardant les résultats versus l'attitude de l'armée qu'on peut se poser questions sur la véritable intention de cette méga étude.

 

1) La conclusion du rapport vient dans un document intitulé rapport #14. On comprend donc que 13 rapports ont précédé celui-ci. Mais ou sont-ils? Et qu'en est-il des conclusions?

 

2) En lisant le rapport, on constate que 21% des cas sont considérés comme "inexpliqués". Par contre, dans le communiqué de presse, le secrétaire de la US Air Force dit "sur la base des conclusions de ce rapport, nous croyons qu'aucun objet décrit comme une soucoupe volante "Flying saucer" n'ont survolé le territoire américain. Même les 3% inxepliqués pourraient être compris si on possédait toutes les informations nécessaires." Cette déclaration est d'autant plus surprenante quand on sait que 21% des cas sont considérés comme inexpliqués. Il y a de quoi sourciller!

 

3) Chaque rapport d'observation, selon les témoins impliqués, étaient catégorisés comme étant excellent, bon, douteux, pauvre. Dans le rapport final, on réalise que plus un témoignage est crédible (avec la mention excellent), plus il a des chances d'être dans la catégorie "inexpliqué".

 

4) Plusieurs commentaires rigousement faux ont été émis suite aux pseudo-conclusions du projet BLUE BOOK. Et ces commentaires sont souvent réutilisés par les sceptiques encore aujourd'hui (en 2020) qui ne sont pas aux faits des études du phénomène. En voici un certains nombre traduits librement en français:

« Les cas fiables ne sont pas intéressants et les cas intéressants ne sont pas fiables. Malheureusement, il n'y a aucun cas qui sont à la fois fiables et intéressant »

Carl Sagan, astronome

Cette déclaration de Carl Sagan concernant les observations d'OVNIS est d'autant plus fausse quand on lit les conclusions du projet Blue Book. Plus un témoin à la note "excellent", plus son témoignage a des chances d'être dans la catégorie des phénomènes aériens inexpliqués.

« À peu près toutes les observations sont soit des erreurs ou des canulars. Les rapports sont tellement remplis de canulars et les passionnés de soucoupes volantes sont si souvent excentriques, bizarres et débiles que Hynek risque constamment de détruire sa réputation sans le vouloir en étant confondus par eux »

Dr. Isaac Asimov, auteur

Encore une citation hasardeuse. De nombreux témoignages ont été rapportés par des témoins très crédibles et ayant des compétences évidentes pour comprendre l'origine des phénomènes aériens communs: controleurs aériens, policiers, pilote de ligne ou de chasse, ingénieur, astronome

« Tous les cas non-expliqués proviennent de mauvais observateurs »

Dr. Donald Menzel, astronome

Citation sur les témoignages d'OVNI complétement fausse quand on s'attarde réellement à l'étude des témoignages répertoriés.

 « Les cas inexpliqués sont simplement ceux pour lesquels il y a peu d'informations permettant d'obtenir une base solide d'explications ».

Ben Bova, écrivain

De nombreux témoignages ont été relevés par des témoins à la fois crédible et ayant une connaissance très importante des divers phénomène aériens et météorologiques. Des écrans radars ont aussi pu capté des signaux d'objets aux capacités techniques clairement au-dessus de notre technologie.