Knowledge vs Belief

A key distinction to move forward

Knowledge constitutes a complete or partial understanding of a phenomenon or a thing. It is based on observations and facts. More subtly, it is sometimes based on a deep emotional certainty (intuition) transcending culture (cultural conditioning). To arrive at a certain knowledge of the mechanisms explaining the phenomena which concern us here, it is essential to cross-reference the various testimonies while remaining open to the various avenues that could explain a phenomenon.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Belief is very well defined by Anthony Robins saying that it is "... a powerful emotional state of certainty." Beliefs are directly related to our values ​​and various aspects of our inner world. They can be positive or negative depending on the emotions they make us experience. Thus, positive beliefs generate positive emotions while negative beliefs generate negative emotions. It's simplistic but it is so! Buddhists define negative emotions by saying that they cause suffering. The negative emotions are therefore: jealousy, fear, hatred, anger.

In summary, belief is made up of interpreting our past experiences and what our mind is focusing on. An individual who has experienced a premonitory dream about a major disaster may believe that their gift is evil. On the other hand, to have a real knowledge of it, it is necessary to take his testimony and crosscheck it with many others to bring out a knowledge of the phenomenon (complete or partial).

Connaissance vs Croyance

Une distinction primordiale pour avancer

La connaissance constitue une compréhension complète ou partielle d’un phénomène ou d’une chose. Elle est basée sur des observations et des faits. De façon plus subtil, elle parfois basée sur une certitude émotionnelle (intuition) profonde transcendant la culture (le conditionnement culturel). Pour en arriver à une certaine connaissance des mécanismes expliquant les phénomènes qui nous occupent ici, il est primordial de recouper les différents témoignages tout en restant ouvert aux diverses pistes pouvant expliquer un phénomène..

La croyance quand à elle est très bien définit par Anthony Robins en disant qu’il s’agit "... d’un puissant état affectif de certitude." Les croyances sont directement liées à nos valeurs et divers aspects de notre monde intérieur. Elles peuvent être positives ou négatives en fonction des émotions qu’elles nous font vivre. Ainsi les croyances positives engendrent des émotions positives alors que les croyances négatives engendrent des émotions négatives. C'est simpliste mais c'est ainsi! Les bouddhistes définissent les émotions négatives en disant qu’elles amènent la souffrance. Les émotions négatives sont donc : jalousie, peur, haine, colère.

 

En résumé, la croyance est constitué de l'interprétation de nos expériences passées et de ce sur quoi notre esprit porte son attention. Un individu ayant vécu un rêve prémonitoire portant sur une catastrophe importante pourra croire que son don est maléfique. Par contre, pour en avoir une connaissance réelle, il faut prendre son témoignage et le recouper avec de nombreux autres pour en faire ressortir une connaissance du phénomène (complète ou partielle).