Grudge Commission and Mantel Affair

We replace the Sign commission by another false commission (Grudge). The GRUDGE commission started immediately after the first official death from UFOs (Or at least what appears to be). In early 1948, Captain Mantell was asked to intercept a UFO spotted over Fort Knox, Kentucky. Unfortunately, it crashed shortly after for some unknown reason. Officially, he pursued the luminous ball of the planet Venus and exceeded the altitude limits of his device. But the public does not readily accept this conclusion. Indeed, it is almost impossible to see Venus without a sky in broad daylight. The Air Force thinks it is calming things down, but in reality it is distraught. The Pentagon thanks Colonel McCoy who asserts that UFOs are not of terrestrial origin. The SIGN program archives were burned on August 8 and a final report was produced which was published 6 months later (in February 1949). This expeditious report states: If a sufficient number of personnel were stationed during the observations, one could probably find the origin. The report insists on the cases explained but admits all the same that one observation out of 5 (or 237) has no explanation.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

In August 1949, Grudge published his final results: 250 obversations, 23% of which were unexplained, despite a clear instruction to find explanations at all costs. In December 1949, it was announced that the commission was to be reduced. The GRUDGE commission had the explicit aim of ridiculing the numerous testimonies given on American soil. In October 1951, Captain Edward Ruppelt took the reins of this project and made it clear: the role of the team is to get rid of as many sightings as possible by explaining them. The Grudge Commission even tried to persuade journalists to write negatively about the UFO phenomenon, but people approached could not be convinced that nothing in particular was happening.

Death of Mantel

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Mantell is now known to be chasing a huge metallic object flying far too high for the capabilities of his aircraft, an F-51. The Navy was testing these immense devices at the time in the greatest secrecy, without even informing the Air Force of their experience.

Comission Grudge et affaire Mantel

On remplace la comission Sign par une autre fausse commission (Grudge).  La commission GRUDGE a débuté tout de suite après le premier mort officiel dû aux OVNI (Ou du moins ce qui semble l'être). Au début de 1948, on demande au capitaine Mantell d’intercepté un OVNI repéré au dessus de Fort Knox, dans l’état du Kentucky. Malheureusement, il s’écrase peu de de temps après pour une raison inconnue. Officiellement, il a poursuivit la boule lumineuse de la planète Vénus et a dépassé les limite d’altitude de son appareil. Mais le public n'admet pas facilement cette conclusion. En effet, il est à peu près impossible de voir Vénus abvec un ciel en plein jour. L'Air Force croit calmer le jeu mais, en réalité, elle est désemparée. Le Pentagone remercie la colonel McCoy qui affirme que les OVNI ne sont pas d’origine terrestre. On brûle les archives du programme SIGN le 8 août et on produit une rapport final que l'on publie 6 mois plus tard (en février 1949). Ce rapport expéditif déclare: si un nombre suffisant de personnels était posté lors des observations, on pourrait probablement en trouver l'origine. Le rapport insiste sur les cas expliqués mais admet tout-de-même qu'une observation sur 5 (soit 237) n'a aucune explication.

En août 1949, Grudge publie ses résultats finaux: 250 obversations dont 23% inexpliqués, malgré une consigne claire de trouver des explications à tout prix. En décembre 1949, on annonce que la comission devait être réduite. La commission GRUDGE avait pour but explicite de ridiculiser les nombreux témoignages fait sur le territoire américain. En Octobre 1951, le capitaine Edward Ruppelt prend les reines de ce projet et déclara clairement : le rôle de l'équipe est de se débarasser du plus grand nombre possible d'observations en les expliquant. La comission Grudge tenta même de persuader des journalistes d'écrire négativement sur le phénomène OVNI mais les gens approchés n'ont pu être convaincu que rien de particulier ne se produisait.

 

Mort de Mantel

On sait maintenant que Mantell poursuivait un immense objet métallique volant beaucoup trop haut pour les capacités de son appareil, un F-51. La Navy testait à ce moment ces appareils immense dans le plus grand secret, sans même avertir l'Air Force de leur expérience.