The ghost rockets of Sweden

1946 - A Russian origin?

The sighting of "ghost rockets" took place in the spring of 1946, culminating on July 9 with 250 reports. Many reports then spoke of a cigar-shaped, wingless object. The most interesting cases are those reported by pilots who observed them in flight. Trying to chase them, the cigars slipped away to disappear. The Swedes, convinced that the rockets were in fact controlled by Russian radars (the Soviet Union had taken Peenemünde) sent spy planes to the Russian coast but without discovering any launching base, leaving even today the mystery of the "Ghost rockets".

Swedish rocket history begins on February 26, 1946, when a Helsinki radio station reported strange meteor sightings in the sky over northern Finland. It was not until May of the same year that sightings increased and reached southern Sweden (more densely populated than northern Finland). By the fall, the Swedish defense had recorded nearly 1,000 incident reports. The speed of the cars varying from fast to slow. From May, the media spoke extensively about the sightings but all this stops at the end of July by order of the defense for "strategic reasons". Indeed, for the authorities, the only plausible explanation was the test of missiles (without explosive head) on the part of the Soviet Union. By 1944, Nazi Germany's V-2 rocket tests had reached Sweden. It was also long believed that Secret Service officers met in Stockholm to discuss the problem: Douglas Bader (English War Hero) and James Doolittle (having investigated the sightings of the Foo Fighters during the Great War). The only (known) photo was taken (see photo below) by Erik Reutersward and investigators concluded that there was a daytime meteor (clearly visible in the photo).

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Ovni-1946-Suede.jpg

On October 10 of the same year, when the sightings were more or less finished, the Swedish Ministry of Defense issued its conclusion publicly: most of the sightings are ordinary objects and misinterpreted. In only a few cases, the observations made by witnesses cannot be explained by a meteorological phenomenon, by the imagination or by an airplane.

Anders-Liljegren-ufologiste.jpg

It should also be noted that a study made by the Swedish ufologist Anders Liljegren (see image) thanks to access to information showed that the officers responsible for investigating came to the conclusion that no missile test was had been carried out over Sweden in 1946, suggesting that the explanation for the unexplained sightings may have been from extraterrestrial visitors. The work of the investigators ended in December 1946. Note also that the investigation carried out by Liljegren in 1984 does not provide any proof of the involvement of soldiers James Doolitle and Douglas Bader.

Anders Liljegren - Swedish Ufologist

Les fusées fantômes de Suède

1946 - Une origine russe?

L’observation des « fusées fantômes » s’est déroulée au printemps en 1946, culminant le 9 juillet avec 250 rapports. De nombreux rapports parlaient alors d’objet en forme de cigare et sans aile. Les cas les plus intéressants sont ceux rapportés par les pilotes les ayant observés en plein vol. Tentant de les prendre en chasse, les cigares s’esquivaient pour disparaitre. Les Suédois, persuadés que les fusées étaient en fait contrôlées par les radars russes (l'Union Soviétique avait pris Peenemünde) ont envoyés des avions espions sur les côtes russes mais sans découvrir aucune base de lancement, laissant encore aujourd’hui, le mystère des « fusées fantômes ».

L'histoire des fusées suédoises débute le 26 février 1946 lorsqu'une radio de Helsinki fait état d'étranges observations de météores dans le ciel du Nord de la Finlande. Ce n'est qu'en Mai de la même année que les observations augmentent et atteignent le sud de la Suède (plus densément peuplée que le nord de la Finlande). À l'automne, la défense suédoise avait enregistré près de 1000 rapports d'incidents. La vitesse des bolides variant de rapide à lente. À partir de mai, les médias parlaient abondamment des observations mais tout celà s'arrête à la fin juillet par ordre de la défense pour des "raisons stratégiques". En effet, pour les autorités, la seule explications plausibles étaient le test de missiles (sans tête explosive) de la part de l'Union Soviétique. En 1944, les tests de fusées V-2 de l'Allemagne Nazi avaient atteint la Suède. On également cru longtemps que des officiers des services secrets se sont rencontrés à Stockholm pour discuter du problèmes: Douglas Bader (Héro de guerre anglais) et James Doolittle (ayant enquêté les observation des Foo Fighters pendant la grande guerre). La seule photo (connue) fut prise (voir photo en bas) par Erik Reutersward et les enquêteurs ont conclu à un météore de jour (clairement visible sur la photo).

Le 10 octobre de la même année, alors que les observations étaient à peu près terminées, le ministère de la défense suédois émettait sa conclusion publiquement: la pluspart des observations sont des objets ordinaires et mal interprétés. Dans quelques cas seulement, les observations effectuées par les témoins ne peuvent être expliquer par un phénomène météorologique, par l'imagination ou par un avion.

Notons également, qu'une étude fait par l'ufologiste suédois Anders Liljegren (voir image) grâce à l'accès à l'information démontra que les officiers chargés d'enquêter en sont arrivés à la conclusion qu'aucun test de missiles n'avait été effectué au dessus de la Suède en 1946, laissant entrevoir que l'explication pour les observations inexpliquées relevait peut-être de visiteurs extra-terrestres. Les travaux des enquêteurs se sont terminés en décembre 1946. Notons aussi que l'enquête effectué par Liljegren en 1984 n'apporte aucune preuve de l'implication des militaire James Doolitle et Douglas Bader.

Anders Liljegren - Ufologue suédois