Memo from General Twining

A letter establishing the real nature of the UFO sightings

This letter is from General Nathan Twining to Brigadier George Shulgen. This letter was appended to the CONDON report, a report, it will be recalled, which concluded that UFOs did not exist. Here is the translation of this letter from Twining:

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

ATTENTION: Brig. General George Schulgen AC / AS-2

1. As requested by AC / AS-2 , the considered opinion regarding “flying discs” is presented below. This opinion is based on interrogation report data provided by AC / AS-2 and on preliminary studies carried out by personnel of T-2 and the Aeronautical Laboratory, Engineering Division T-3. This opinion was expressed during a conference between the staff of the Air Institute of Technology, Intelligence T-2, Office, Chief of Engineering Division, and the Aircraft, Power Plant and Propeller Laboratories of the Engineering Division T-3.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

2. We believe that:

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

a) The phenomenon is something real and not visionary or fictitious.

b) Some objects are shaped like a disc, and are so appreciable in size that they appear to be as large as airplanes.

c) It is possible that some of the incidents were caused by natural phenomena, such as meteors.

AMC-memo-Nathan-Twining.jpg

d) Reported operating characteristics such as extreme rates of climb, handling (particularly in roll) and certain movements which should be considered elusive when spotted or contacted by friendly aircraft and radar, suggest the possibility of some of the objects being controlled manually, automatically or remotely.

e) The apparent common description is as follows:

(1) Metallic or light reflecting surface.

(2) No trail behind the object, except in a few cases where the object apparently operated under high performance conditions.

(3) Circular or elliptical in shape, flat on the bottom and rounded on the top.

(4) Several reports indicate tight formation flights varying from three to nine objects.

(5) Normally no associated sound except in three cases a loud rumble was noted.

(6) Level flight speeds normally greater than 300 knots are estimated.

f) It is possible within the present knowledge of the United States - provided detailed developments are undertaken - to construct a manned aircraft which has the general description of the object in sub-paragraph (e) above which would be capable of an approximate range of 7,000 miles at subsonic speeds.

g) Any development in this country in the direction indicated would be extremely expensive, time consuming and to the considerable detriment of ongoing projects and, therefore, if directed, should be implemented independently of existing projects.

h) The following points should be duly taken into account:

(1) The possibility that these objects are of national origin - the product of a high security project unknown to AC / AS-2 or this order.

(2) The absence of material evidence in the form of exhibits recovered by accident which would undeniably prove the existence of these subjects.

(3) The possibility that a foreign country has some form of possibly nuclear propulsion, which is beyond our national knowledge.

3. It is recommended that:

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

- a. Headquarters, Air Force issues a directive assigning a priority, safety classification and code name for a detailed study of this matter to include the preparation of complete sets of all available data and relevant which will then be made available to the army, navy and the Atomic. Energy Commission, JRDB, Air Force Scientific Advisory Group, NACA, and the RAND and NEPA projects for comments and recommendations, with a preliminary report to be transmitted within 15 days of receipt of the data and a detailed report thereafter all the 30 days the investigation is developing. Full data exchange should be affected.

4. Pending a specific directive , AMC will continue the investigation within the limits of its current resources in order to better define the nature of the phenomenon. Detailed essential information will be formulated immediately for transmission through the channels.

Memo du général Twining

Une lettre établissant le caractère réel des observations d'OVNIS

Cette lettre est celle que général Nathan Twining à l'attention du brigadier George Shulgen. Cette lettre fut mise en annexe du rapport CONDON, rapport, on le rappelle, qui concluait à la non existence des OVNIS. Voic la traduction de cette lettre de Twining:

​​

ATTENTION: Brig. Général George Schulgen AC / AS-2

 

1. Comme demandé par AC / AS-2, il est présenté ci-dessous l'opinion réfléchie concernant les «disques volants». Cette opinion est basée sur les données du rapport d'interrogation fournies par AC / AS-2 et sur des études préliminaires effectuées par le personnel du T-2 et du Laboratoire aéronautique, Division du génie T-3. Cette opinion a été formulée lors d'une conférence entre le personnel de l'Air Institute of Technology, Intelligence T-2, Office, Chief of Engineering Division, et les Aircraft, Power Plant and Propeller Laboratories de la division Engineering T-3.

2. Nous sommes d'avis que:

a) Le phénomène est quelque chose de réel et non visionnaire ou fictif.

b) Certains objets possèdent la forme d'un disque, et ont une taille si appréciable qu'ils semblent être aussi grands que des avions.

c) Il est possible que certains des incidents soient causés par des phénomènes naturels, tels que des météores.
 

AMC-memo-Nathan-Twining.jpg

d) Les caractéristiques d'exploitation rapportées telles que les taux de montée extrêmes, la maniabilité (en particulier en roulis) et certains mouvement qui doivent être considérés comme évasifs lorsqu'ils sont repérés ou contactés par un avion ami et un radar, laissent croire à la possibilité que certains des objets soient contrôlés manuellement, automatiquement ou à distance.

 

e) La description commune apparente est la suivante: 

 

(1) Surface métallique ou réfléchissant la lumière.

(2) Absence de trainée derrière l'objet, sauf dans quelques cas où l'objet fonctionnait apparemment dans des conditions de haute performance.

(3) De forme circulaire ou elliptique, plate sur le fond et bombée sur le dessus.

(4) Plusieurs rapports font état de vols en formation bien serrée variant de trois à neuf objets.

(5) Normalement aucun son associé, sauf dans trois cas, un grondement important a été noté.

(6) Des vitesses de vol en palier normalement supérieures à 300 nœuds sont estimées.

 

f) Il est possible dans les connaissances actuelles des États-Unis - à condition que des développements détaillés soient entrepris - de construire un avion piloté qui a la description générale de l'objet dans le sous-paragraphe (e) ci-dessus qui serait capable d'une portée approximative de 7000 milles à des vitesses subsoniques.

 

g) Tout développement dans ce pays dans le sens indiqué serait extrêmement coûteux, chronophage et au détriment considérable des projets en cours et, par conséquent, s'il est dirigé, devrait être mis en place indépendamment des projets existants.

 

h) Les points suivants doivent être dûment pris en considération:

 

(1) La possibilité que ces objets soient d'origine nationale - le produit d'un projet de haute sécurité inconnu d'AC / AS-2 ou de cette commande.

(2) L'absence de preuves matérielles sous la forme de pièces à conviction récupérées par accident qui prouveraient indéniablement l'existence de ces sujets.

(3) La possibilité qu'un pays étranger dispose d'une forme de propulsion éventuellement nucléaire, ce qui est hors de notre connaissance nationale.

 

3. Il est recommandé que:

- une. Le quartier général, l'armée de l'air émet une directive attribuant une priorité, une classification de sécurité et un nom de code pour une étude détaillée de cette question afin d'inclure la préparation d'ensembles complets de toutes les données disponibles et pertinentes qui seront ensuite mises à la disposition de l'armée, de la marine et de l'Atomique. Commission de l'énergie, JRDB, Air Force Scientific Advisory Group, NACA, et les projets RAND et NEPA pour commentaires et recommandations, avec un rapport préliminaire à transmettre dans les 15 jours suivant la réception des données et un rapport détaillé par la suite tous les 30 jours l'enquête se développe. Un échange complet de données devrait être affecté.

 

4. Dans l'attente d'une directive spécifique, AMC poursuivra l'enquête dans la limite de ses ressources actuelles afin de mieux définir la nature du phénomène. Des éléments d'information essentiels détaillés seront formulés immédiatement pour la transmission via les canaux.